Oxygen Basic

Programming => Problems & Solutions => Topic started by: Brian Alvarez on May 18, 2019, 12:28:20 PM

Title: REDIM issue. Is this by design?
Post by: Brian Alvarez on May 18, 2019, 12:28:20 PM
The Following code outputs:

Code: [Select]
NEW CONTENTS FOR ONE
ORIGINAL CONTENTS

Code: [Select]
DIM STRING TST(1)

TST(1) = "ORIGINAL CONTENTS"

FUNCTION i_use_TST() AS LONG

print TST(1) chr(13, 10)

END FUNCTION

REDIM STRING TST(1)
TST(1) = "NEW CONTENTS FOR ONE"

' Print this to screen, to make sure the contents of
' TST(1) have been updated.
print TST(1) chr(13, 10)

' Now that the contents of TST(1) have been proved to
' have been updated, call i_use_TST().
i_use_TST()

Is this by design? How does it work?

Title: Re: REDIM issue. Is this by design?
Post by: Charles Pegge on May 18, 2019, 03:30:42 PM
Hi Brian,

Make the first one REDIM instead of DIM.

DIM is static only.
Title: Re: REDIM issue. Is this by design?
Post by: Brian Alvarez on May 18, 2019, 03:57:38 PM
Got it. Thanks Charles. :)